Help, Guides, and News on making the Switch To Apple Macintosh Computers
One of the new features in Software Update starting with Mac OS X Leopard is that it can download important updates in the background without your intervention. When the updates have finished downloading, Mac OS X will notify you that new updates are ready to be installed. If you do not want to use this feature or prefer to run Software Update manually, use the following steps to disable the feature.
- Launch System Preferences and click on Software Update
- Select 'Scheduled Check' and uncheck 'Download important updates automatically'
The feature is now disabled.